California Building Code Risk Categories

Risk Category III & IV

Risk Categories.JPG

Since the 2012 edition, the International Building Code (IBC) has required “special inspection of firestopping” for buildings over 75 feet in height and Risk Category III/IV buildings.
As you review the CBC Vol.2 of 2. Table 1604.5 Risk Category of Buildings and other Structures, please make sure not to become over-whelmed with how many structures in your community are Risk Category III/IV.

Contact Us and review Complete Required Inspections

to answer basic questions, comments, or concerns.

Chapter 17 of the IBC governs the quality, workmanship and requirements for materials covered. Materials of construction and tests must conform to the applicable standards listed in the Code. Any material proposed for use in the construction of a building or structure is subject to approval to determine character, quality and limitations of use.

The owner’s representative must provide a special inspection report, as mandated by the code, to ESFP. This alleviates the need for the AHJ to have the in-depth knowledge needed to thoroughly inspect the penetration, joints, and building perimeter firestops. It also frees up time for the AHJ, knowing that the special inspection agency will be conducting a detailed and extensive inspection of these features.

The qualifications for Special Inspectors are also specified within other sections of the IBC. The registered design professional in responsible charge and engineers of record involved in the design of the project are permitted to act as the approved agency. Their personnel are permitted to act as special inspectors for the work designed by them, provided they meet or exceed qualification standards.

The California Building Code 2016 edition states, “that Fire-resistant penetrations and joints shall be inspected to ASTM E2174 Standard Practice for On-Site Inspection of Installed Fire Stops & ASTM E2393 Standard Practice for On-Site Inspection of Installed Fire Resistive Joint Systems and Perimeter Fire Barrier.

Through OSHPD “Policy Intent Notice - 67” Endless Stories Fire Protection provides the necessary certifications to accomplish the special inspection requirements needed to verify the detailed Listed Firestop Systems used in construction of Healthcare occupancies throughout the San Diego County area, in addition to buildings 75’ or higher and Risk Category III/IV.